0Kontrol —3rdeye2ndhand (SA119)

1. Nebenwirkung
2. Bombs
3. Fantoche
4. Limbo
5. Lune
6. Light
7. Lullaby
8. Gologramma
9. Traitors
10. Bombs (rmx by People Theatre)
11. Traitors (rmx by WANT/ed)
12. Gologramma (rmx by Alphamay)

Review from Bodystyler

Review from Side-Line

Review from Darkroom

The album “3rdeye2ndhand” is a debut album of 0Kontrol on ScentAir Records and the first physical album. 0Kontrol took some time to slow down, to fully rethink, rerecord and
remaster the elder versions of some of their singles, adding some new tracks as. It has been our “second hand” shop of our “third eye’s” insights. Although some songs seem pretty kind
and naive in melody and vocals the vicious lyrics in French, German, Russian Spanish and English – are telling the story about the dark hopelessness of this world and the uselessness
of any taken actions while the others are ruling your lives.

The motto of the album is “L’enfer c’est les autres.” – “Hell are the others” like told J.P. Sartre is a part of the reflexions on doubts tearing us apart.
Although the core sound of the project is analogue electro sound you can spot some post punk, future pop, oldschool EBM and abstract hip hop influences in
various songs in different kind of proportions. The lyric and the music seem oldschool and new at the same time – hard to define through any particular period beginning from 80s.
The remixes are not less international and refreshing made by the renown German electronic avantgarde project Alphamay, a Russian-based international electropop
project WANT/ed and a famous French remix maker People Theatre.


0Kontrol was born in January 2018 somewhere between St. Petersburg and Brussels as an internet project. Vladimir 4.44 (post punk/techno) and Masha Kasha (synthpop/abstract hip hop)
found out that they were sick of one-size-fits-all electro and decided to revive some oldschool EBM/electrowave. Since one of the founders has been The bands,
that shaped their style include Front 242, Frontline Assembly, Decoded Feedback, The Cure, We Are Temporary, Deine Lakaien, Qntal, Delerium, Dead Can Dance and others.
Merging this various influences they created an own style called “atomwave”. “Atomwave” is defined through oldschool electrowave, multi-layered male and female vocals and lyrics in
various languages inspired by scientific terms. The unique oldschool style and creates a strange borderline between naive voice and evil expressions, energetic beats, electric guitar
and psychedelic synths with a hint of futurepop. The lyrics are fully directed towards storytelling, that’s why you can sometimes find the tracks sounding more like abstract hip hop
rather than a usual synthpop. The project is also producing visuals and videos supporting the general concept and creating a unique and surrealistic universe as a whole.
For the live set the duo has been joined by the Stanis1avsky on drums. Now the trio is playing concerts in Russia and Europe. The live concerts round up this fully electronic
project with live instruments and some dark, grotesque performance.